Andrea Cola (Monolite Racing) wins vice title ahead of Tom Beckhäuser (Franz Wöss Racing)

Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup - Hungaroring (HUN)

With three races held for the first time, the Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup offered an exciting final weekend at the Hungaroring. At the races in Hungary, after the early decision in Brno, the focus was on the runner-up title in Formula 3. Sandro Zeller (Jo Zeller Racing) had secured the title in the Czech Republic and, as expected, Andrea Cola trumped on the 4,381 km long Hungaroring. His worst opponent was Tom Beckhäuser from the Czech Republic, who put the Italian under strong pressure. In the 1st qualifying Beckhäuser had convinced with the best time (1:38,234 min). Cola then fought back with the fastest lap (1:38.910 min) in 2nd qualifying.

In the 1st race on Saturday morning Beckhäuser shone with a strong performance and won confidently ahead of Andrea Cola and Sandro Zeller, who attacked Cola until the finish. In the 2nd run Tom Beckhäuser again distanced himself from the competition. With a lead of 12.177 seconds he relegated Cola to second place. Sandro Zeller became third like in run one. For the big finale on Sunday afternoon the hour struck for Andrea Cola. He won by a large margin ahead of Marcel Tobler (Jo Zeller Racing) and Tom Beckhäuser, who initially led the race, but was fined for an early start. For the driver of Franz Wöss Racing a fantastic weekend came true. The Czech climbed onto the podium three times and passed Antoine Bottiroli (GFORCE Racing) in the overall standings in third place. Bottiroli was within striking distance of the final, but did not make it past two fourth places in Hungary. He had to miss the third race due to a defective cylinder head gasket. In Formula Renault Nico Gruber celebrated an undisputed triple victory. In all three races the Austrian gave his team Hoffmann Racing full points and won the overall standings ahead of team mate Dr.Norbert Groer. The Swiss Florian Münger (Jo Zeller Racing) was able to extend his lead with a one-two victory in the Formula 3 Trophy classification and was happy about the overall victory. Luca Iannaconne (Franz Wöss Racing) passed Urs Rüttimann (Jo Zeller Racing) in the overall standings. Florian Renauer (Renauer Motorsport) clinched a one-two-three victory in Formula 4.

Press Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup

nach oben