Sandro Zeller wins sovereign double victory

Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup - Imola (ITA)

In the 3rd round of the Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup in Imola Sandro Zeller has won both races. After the opening double victory in Monza the driver of Jo Zeller Racing left the competition behind in the Autodromo "Enzo e Dino Ferrrai". This has enabled Zeller to further extend his lead in the overall Formula 3 standings. He had dominated both free practice sessions on Friday and laid the foundation for a successful qualifying. With 1:40,205 minutes he put his Formula 3 Dallara 312 Mercedes on pole position. In the first race Zeller got the best start and crossed the finish line with over 6,003 seconds ahead of Bernardo Pellegrino in the F3 Dallara 308 Toyota. Behind him followed Antoine Bottiroli in the F3 Dallara 312 Mercedes, who delivered a bravura piece after the accident in qualifying and made the zero result of the Red Bull Ring forgotten.

Ricardo Perego (F3 Dallara 308 Fiat) missed the podium. He finished in fourth place followed by Andrea Cola (F3 Dallara 312 Volkswagen). The Roman was unable to realise his fantastic qualifying time as second best for the race and stopped at the start. Cola chased after the field. After the 16 laps he finished in fifth place ahead of Kurt Böhlen (F3 Dallara 309 Volkswagen) and Marcel Tobler in the F3 Dallara 308 Mercedes. The 2nd race started with a mass crash in the rear part of the field and resulted in a race abort. Ricardo Perego had touched Kurt Böhlen, which resulted in a chain reaction with a total of six cars. After the re-start, 16 cars tackled the remaining distance, with Sandro Zeller taking the scepter again. Andrea Cola did not let the Swiss escape too far and had to admit defeat at the finish by 0.525 seconds. Bernardo Pellegrino also climbed to the podium with third place in the day's overall standings. Tom Beckhäuser (F3 Dallara 308 Opel Spiess) finished fourth, after the Czech had to retire prematurely after eleven laps due to technical damage. Antoine Bottiroli finished fifth, while behind him Marcel Tobler and Kurt Böhlen changed places in the 1st race. In Formula Renault Nico Gruber got a dream start in the 1st race. He won ahead of Simon Stoller (both Team Hoffmann Racing) and Matej Kacovsky (HKC Racing). In 2.Head Gruber and Stoller only came a few meters and had to retire prematurely due to the mass accident. Matej Kacovsky won the race ahead of Dr. Norbert Groer (Team Hoffmann Racing). Luca Iannaccone in the F3 Dallara 306 Volkswagen won the Formula 3 Trophy in the first race. Florian Münger (F3 Dallara 306 Volkswagen) retained the upper hand in the second race.

Press Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup

nach oben