Plenty of excitement about the Leeb Circuit Trophy

Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup - Red Bull Ring (AUT)

The Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup comes to its second round after Spielberg (17.-19.May). After the season opener in Monza (ITA), Formula 3 with Formula Renault and Formula 4 will stop at the Leeb Rundstrecken Trophy in Styria. In the field of Formula Racers there will also be a fight for points for the FIA Zone Championship and the TOPJET F2000 Trophy. The race programme is full to bursting. With the Renault Clio Cup Central Europe, KIA Platinum Cup and the P9 Challenge, as well as the series of the FIA CEZ for touring cars and GT´s it will go high. A total of 15 decisions are pending.

After Monza, the Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup will be a guest on another Formula 1 circuit. "In Spielberg we have a great starting field. For the first time we'll be cooperating with the FIA Zone Championship, and the Italian Formula 3 will also be there, as in Monza," says coordinator Franz Wöss. Formula 3 will clearly account for the lion's share of the drivers' field with over 20 vehicles. Sandro Zeller (Jo Zeller Racing) has clinched a one-two victory at the season opener and comes to Spielberg as the leader of the standings. Behind the defending champion is Antoine Bottiroli (GFORCE Racing) in second place ahead of Kurt Böhlen (Franz Wöss Racing) and Andrea Cola (Monolite Racing), who shared the other podium positions in the Monza. In Spielberg Sandro Zeller will be the hunted. His compatriot Marcel Tobler (Jo Zeller Racing) will be there again. Philipp Regensperger and Tom Beckhäuser (Franz Wöss Racing) will be involved. Both have registered their eligibility for the points. With Manfred Lang (LS-Performance) and Josef Halwachs (Renauer Motorsport) two Austrians enter the season.

In the Formula Renault classification Simon Stoller leads the table. Matej Kacovsky (Team HKC Racing), Dr.Norbert Groer and Thomas Aregger (Equipe Bernoise) want to make it as difficult as possible for the Swiss. Last year's Renault Champion Florian Münger (Jo Zeller Racing) switched to Formula 3 for this season and took the lead in the Formula 3 Trophy classification. With Dr. Ralph Pütz (Belicon Motorsport) and Luca Iannaccone (Franz Wöss Racing) Münger has two persistent competitors. In the Formula 4 classification two young drivers from Austria make their debut in Spielberg. Stefan Fürtbauer (Franz Wöss Racing) and Marius Morosan (Renauer Motorsport) will be taking their first race kilometres on the Formula 1 circuit in Styria under their wheels. The Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup again has an international field to offer this season. Drivers from 10 nations are registered for the Leeb Circuit Trophy. Mercedes, Opel, Volkswagen, Toyota, Spiess, Mugen and Fiat represent the engine manufacturers who have made their mark on the European Formula 3 scene in recent years. "We expect a great fight at the top. There will be some drivers who can really stand up to Sandro Zeller," coordinator Franz Wöss looks ahead.

RAVENOL and HORAG support sub-ratings

In the Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup 2019 two sub-ratings are integrated. In addition one could win high-carat industrial outfitters. The RAVENOL Formula 3 Cup will be announced for the first time. In this classification Christian Wachter (Wachter Motorsport) won ahead of Dr. Ralph Pütz in Monza. For the Swiss Formula pilots there is again the SWISS Formula 3 Cup, which is supported by the company HORAG. Sandro Zeller currently leads the table ahead of Antoine Bottiroli and Kurt Böhlen.

(Press Drexler-Automotive Formula Cup)

nach oben